Whole Wheat Cinnamon Chip Scones

As a kid, I always loved cinnamon chip muffins and scones from the store or bakery. After a lot of searching, I finally found cinnamon chips (they were around for the holidays but may have gone away again). I have had them in my cabinet just waiting to be used for months now. A few nights ago, which oddly enough is when I do a lot of my baking. I often start projects around 9 or 10pm after Cole has gone to bed and the house is quiet. I find it relaxing. Sometimes I cook simple recipes, like muffins, in the afternoon since Cole always loves to join in and help.

Per the norm, I kind of combined two different recipes to come up with this one. I found this recipe for cinnamon chip scones and this recipe for skinny scones and created this one:

Ingredients:
3/4 cup milk (I used 1%)
1 egg
3T sugar
2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 t salt*
1T baking powder
3T chilled unsalted butter (must be cold), cut into small pieces
1/2 cup mounded cinnamon chips
1 egg white
1 1/2T sugar
1/2t cinnamon
* I only had salted butter so I omitted the salt and they came out fine

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the first 3 ingredients
3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking powder. Once combined, cut in chilled butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until the mixture resembles coarse meal
4. Gently fold in cinnamon chips
5. Add in milk mixture, stirring just until moist.
6. Place dough onto floured surface and lightly knead into a ball
7. On lined baking sheet, form dough into a 9″ circle, about 3/4″ thick
8. Using a knife (I wet mine so it wouldn’t stick), cut dough into 12 wedges all the way through
9. Brush egg white over dough and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar
10. Bake until golden, about 18-20 minutes
11. They are delicious warm out of the oven, but can be cooled and placed in an air-tight container for a few days

20130121-111353.jpg

Leave a Reply

